Global Soccer Sports

COPA AMÉRICA 2019 Underway in Brazil

      The Copa América in Brazil is well underway and we are now in to the second round of group stage action.  With powerhouse squads like Brazil, Colombia and Chile the goals nor the play have disappointed.  The early favourites are definitely looking like the host country Brazil, as well as Uruguay coming off of a big 4 – 0 victory against Ecuador.  Argentina, normally a powerhouse, are experiencing some unusual scoring issues, sitting on a 2 – 0 loss to Colombia, and a 1 – 1 tie to neighbour country, Paraguay.  The action continues today with Uruguay vs. Japan at 7pm EST, and continues with the group stages through June 24th.  

*photos sourced via elcomercio


 

June 21

C: Ecuador vs. Chile (Itaipava Arena Fonte Nova, Salvador; 8 p.m. BRT, 7 p.m. ET)

June 22

A: Peru vs. Brazil (Arena Corinthians, Sao Paulo; 4 p.m. BRT, 3 p.m. ET)

A: Bolivia vs. Venezuela (Estadio Mineirao, Belo Horizonte; 4 p.m. BRT, 3 p.m. ET)

June 23

B: Qatar vs. Argentina (Arena do Gremio, Porto Alegre; 4 p.m. BRT, 3 p.m. ET)

B: Colombia vs. Paraguay (Itaipava Arena Fonte Nova, Salvador; 4 p.m. BRT, 3 p.m. ET)

June 24

C: Chile vs. Uruguay (Estadio do Maracana, Rio de Janeiro; 8 p.m. BRT, 7 p.m. ET)

C: Ecuador vs. Japan (Estadio Mineirao, Belo Horizonte; 8 p.m. BRT, 7 p.m. ET)

Quarterfinals (June 27-29)

June 27

Match 19: Winner Group A vs. 3rd Group B/C (Arena do Gremio, Porto Alegre; 9:30 p.m. BRT, 8:30 p.m. ET)

June 28

Match 21: Runner-up Group A vs. Runner-up Group B (Estadio do Maracana, Rio de Janeiro; 4 p.m. BRT, 3 p.m. ET)

Match 20: Winner Group B vs. Runner-up Group C (Arena Corinthians, Sao Paulo; 8 p.m. BRT, 7 p.m. ET)

June 29

Match 22: Winner Group C vs. 3rd Group A/B (Itaipava Arena Fonte Nova, Salvador; 4 p.m. BRT, 3 p.m. ET)

Semifinals (July 2-3)

July 2

Match 23: Winner Group C vs. 3rd Group A/B (Itaipava Arena Fonte Nova, Salvador; 9:30 p.m. BRT, 8:30 p.m. ET)

July 3

Match 24: Winner Match 20 vs. Winner Match 22 (Arena do Grêmio, Porto Alegre; 9:30 p.m. BRT, 8:30 p.m. ET)

Third place play-off (July 6)

July 6

Match 25: Loser Match 23 vs. Loser Match 24 (Arena Corinthians, Sao Paulo; 4 p.m. BRT, 3 p.m. ET)

Final (July 7)

Match 26: Winner Match 23 vs. Winner Match 24 (Estadio do Maracana, Rio de Janeiro; 5 p.m. BRT, 4 p.m. ET)

 

Leave a Reply